Fishbone Returns With “All We Have Is Now” 

Today Fishbone returns, releasing new material since 2006’s Still Stuck In Your Throat, sharing the new single “All We Have Is Now” and its accompanying video. The song is taken from the Bottle Music for Broken People compilation, also released today via Bottles to the Ground, Fat Mike’s new label started by Mike and NOFX. “All We Have Is Now” was recorded and produced by Fat Mike and Fishbone’s Norwood Fisher notes:

“Fishbone and NOFX go waaaay back. We’re in the mutual admiration club, great appreciation for our individual approaches to the music that we’re known for. I don’t remember exactly when Fatty 1st expressed interest in producing Fishbone but it seems like it was a long time ago. A random encounter in a parking lot in more recent history, led to the current song. Mike’s batshit crazy but highly functional, with incredible integrity and follow-through. Just right for Fishbone’s batshit crazy, dysfunctional world.  Yet we are functional enough to make it this far, asses! It was a long time coming and we hope you love it like we do. Enjoy if you will.”

He continues, “Sometimes a note to self finds its way to the song form. ‘All We Have Is Now’ is a prime example. Philosophically, it’s far from a new concept. Eckard Tolle, Allan Watts, Joseph Campbell, and many others have contemplated and pontificated on this topic. The pursuit of self-inquest, in the hopes of experiencing an extended, extraordinary sense of Being, the song, wrapped in a fully blown Fishbone party, reminds me to take advantage of the gift of the ever-present now. Feel free to interpret it however it speaks to you. Ain’t nuttin’ buttah potty…”  

After years of touring and rotating members, 2023 finds Fishbone back to its most solid line up which includes four of its six original members.  “All We Have Is Now” marks the first release with Chris Dowd back in the band since 1994 and it’s the first song recorded with these members in 29 years.  

Fishbone has announced worldwide tour dates with shows kicking off at this year’s SXSW festival and continuing through June, with more to be confirmed.  The band will be playing their own headline shows (including in New York City,) headlining festivals, and doing a run of dates supporting Les Claypool’s Flying Frog Brigade.

With a new EP recorded and produced by Fat Mike of NOFX coming out on Fat Wreck Chords/Bottles to the Ground later this year, Fishbone is getting ready to reclaim their live touring throne. No doubt they will continue to leave the audience wanting more and thinking more, leaving their mark and influence on younger bands, and paving the foundation and legacy they have been laying for decades. 

Fishbone is: Angelo Moore (vocals/Saxophone), Chris Dowd (Keys/Vocals), Dirty Walt (Trumpet/Vocals), Norwood Fisher (Bass), and rounding it out with veteran Fishbone drummer, John Steward, and Mark Phillips.  

Fishbone tour dates

3/17 – SXSW – Austin, TX (The Noise Company Showcase, official sxsw show) 

3/31 – Ramas Fest – Rincón, Puerto Rico *

4/21 – Baltimore Soundstage – Baltimore, MD   (w/ The Slackers) *

4/22 – This is Not Croydon Ska Festival –  Croydon, PA *

4/23 – Gramercy Theatre – New York, NY *

4/25 – Brighton Music Hall – Boston, MA *

4/29 – Speaking Rock Casino – El Paso, TX  *

5/6 – Levitt Pavilion – Denver, CO *

5/16 – South Shore Room at Harrah’s Lake Tahoe – Stateline, NV + 

5/17 – South Shore Room at Harrah’s Lake Tahoe – Stateline, NV + 

5/18 – Bluenote Summer Sessions – Napa, CA +

5/20 – Santa Cruz Civic Auditorium – Santa Cruz, CA +

5/21 – The Observatory North Park – San Diego, CA +

5/23 – Red Butte Garden Amphitheatre – Salt Lake City, UT +

5/24 – The Mission Ballroom – Denver, CO +

5/27 – Punk Rock Bowling Music Festival – Las Vegas, NV 

5/28 – Punk Rock Bowling Music Festival – Las Vegas, NV (w/ Son Rompe Pera and HR)

6/14 – Lillie Zenith – Lille, FR  (with Sum 41)

6/15 – Hellfest – Clisson, FR  

6/17 – Copenhell – Copenhagen, DK 

* – headline show

+ – support for Les Claypool’s Flying Frog Brigade