Blame My Youth Shares New Single “Tentacles”

Blame My Youth, the name Sean Van Vleet records under, shares new song “Tentacles.” The track was recorded with producer Joey Moi who has partnered with Van Vleet on his Blame My Youth project to date. 

In regard to the single Blame My Youth states, “I wrote this about an antidepressant that I had to take because I’m a textbook raging insomniac. I have to take two pills in order to sleep. One of them is supposed to take away all the highs and lows and it keeps your personality somewhere in the middle, so you’re not anxious. ‘Tentacles’ is about being super frustrated with that middle ground and missing the extremes and all their glory – good and bad. I watched ‘My Octopus Teacher” around the same time so I think that’s where tentacles came from. No disrespect to octopuses, I am actually obsessed with them. They’re so strong and venomous so I made the analogy for a prescription drug. Pretty out there, I know… so uh, try and stay off the drugs, kids.”

Van Vleet has confirmed additional dates on his first tour since he created Blame My Youth including a support slot for The Offspring on September1 at Emo’s in Austin, TX. 

Blame My Youth released his debut single “Fantastic” last Fall. It has since earned over 5 million global streams (and climbing) and has just reached the top 30 at Active Rock radio. Further “Fantastic” was just added to Spotify’s “New Noise” and “Rock Hard” playlists. Earlier this year Van Vleet shared a live, stripped down version of the song (listen here) and the emotionally charged “Go To Sleep,” a rock interpolation of an old folktale “Didn’t Nobody Leave But the Baby.” Blame My Youth has also released “Dance With My Demons.” Billboard’s #1 producer Joey Moi has production credit on all 3 songs.  The two also collaborated on Right Where You Belong,” which was written and recorded exclusively for the GRAMMY-nominated soundtrack to Bill And Ted Face The Music – it played during the movie’s closing credits – and marked the debut of Blame My Youth.  

Van Vleet is not only busy with Blame My Youth — he is credited with writing 2 other recently-released singles – OCTAVIO the Dweeb’s “Someday I’ll Be Happy,” (as heard on AltNation) and Mating Rituals’ “Old Disco.” Further, he has six new songs on NVDES new album Psychomagic (released 4/30) and 11 songs on the latest FITZ album Head up High including the last single “Head Up High” (Top 20 on Hot AC) and the current single “Congratulations (feat. Bryce Vine).” Additionally, he co-wrote Arrested Youth’s recent single “EGO.”

Photo Courtesy: Nathaniel Wood