The Slow Death Ready Casual Majesty

The Slow Death are back with their fourth studio LP, titled Casual Majesty, which sees release via Rad Girlfriend Records on July 8. 

Still a never-ending who’s who of midwestern punk rock royalty, this time around The Slow Death includes members of Dillinger Four, The Ergs, The Raging Nathans, The Soviettes, and the list goes on and on. At the helm of this punk rock pirate ship is the Captain, Jesse Thorson. 

Drawing on influences of working-class oi anthems, and no coast, pop-punk fury, the album is sometimes rollicking and fun, yet often dark and somber. The Slow Death carved out their own niche of melodic punk over a decade ago and have not eased up for a moment since. Infectious punk anthems like these only come along every so often. Imagine Cock Sparrer meets The Lemonheads. Yeah, it is that good.

The band shares their video for ‘Maybe It’d Be Wonderful.”

Thorson says, “Mikey Erg and I wrote this song together. Basically, I sent him recording of me being sad and drunk and mumbling and pawing at an acoustic guitar. He sent me back a full song ’cause he is good shit. I’m sorry I threw him thru that window.”

Visit The Slow Death here.

Photo by Patrick Houdek