Thao & The Get Down Stay Down share "Nobody Dies"

Thao & The Get Down Stay Down, the San Francisco-based band fronted by singer and songwriter Thao Nguyen, will release their fourth studio album A Man Alive March 4, 2016. “Nobody Dies,” the first track from the new album, debuts today—listen to it here.

A Man Alive was recorded at Tiny Telephone Studios in San Francisco and was produced by Merrill Garbus of Tune-Yards. The two, close personal friends, experimented extensively during the creation of the record resulting in a unique, new sound for Nguyen.
“With this record I had clearer vision and aspirations. I wanted emotion. I wanted power. I wanted A Man Alive to be beat- and bass-driven,” says Nguyen of the album. “A Man Alive is more instrumental, more riff- and loop-centric, and has more manipulated sounds.”
The new album also finds Nguyen exploring previously untouched subjects including her relationship with her father who left the family when she was a young girl. The record is essentially about my relationship with my dad, its trajectory,” Nguyen says. “It’s a document of my life in conjunction with his, even though we’ve always been leading our lives away from each other. Some are optimistic and forgiving, some are the opposite.”


1. Astonished Man
2. Slash/Burn
3. The Evening
4. Departure
5. Nobody Dies
6. Guts
7. Fool Forever
8. Millionaire
9. Meticulous Bird
10. Give Me Peace
11. Hand To God
12. Endless Love