Justus Proffit and Jay Som release collaborative EP, tour (2018)

Jay Som and Melina Duterte recently announced a collaborative EP with fellow LA-based artist Justus Proffit. The duo will release their debut EP at the end of this week.
Following the release of her debut full-length as Jay Som, 2017’s critically acclaimed Everybody Works, multi-instrumentalist, producer and songwriter Melina Duterte relocated from California’s Bay Area to Los Angeles. Duterte had spent the greater part of the last two years on the road, and while settling into her new home she found a kindred spirit in LA-based singer-songwriter Justus Proffit. Though the two had never played together before, they decided to get together and record just for fun in Duterte’s home studio. This casual session quickly and unexpectedly snowballed into a collaborative EP, where they wrote and recorded one new song per day. Justus Proffit and Jay Som will release their self-written, recorded and produced debut EP, Nothing’s Changed, on September 28 via Polyvinyl Record Co.