Flavor Waster readies LP

It’s Always Sunny When You’re Cool, the debut album from Washington, D.C.’s Flavor Waster, plays like the soundtrack to a square peg fitting perfectly into a round hole.
Hallucinated into existence by film composers (and former members of D.C. instrumental post?hardcore trio Caverns) Kevin Hilliard and Patrick Taylor during the breaks that punctuated a week of all?night movie scoring sessions, Flavor Waster’s music flies from the speakers as a restless mosaic of the duo’s past and present musical obsessions.
The band, rounded out by vocalist Jodi Jones, drummer Martin MacAlister, and multi-instrumentalist Ryan Burke, effortlessly weaves the hyped, pulsating grooves of the reggaeton, soca, and calypso music often heard in Taylor’s familial home in Guyana and the d?beats and breakdowns of the hardcore music Hilliard cut his teeth on, with a reverence for trashy synths and shoegazing vocals. Their diverse yet unified debut album finds vitality in unexpected juxtaposition and melodic contradiction.
It’s Always Sunny When You’re Cool will be released on November 20, 2015 through School of Resentment Recordings. The band will be touring extensively in support of the album in winter 2015 and spring 2016.