War On Women Announce Album, Share Title Track “Wonderful Hell”

A lot has happened since War On Women burst out of Baltimore’s activist community in 2010 as an unapologetically intersectional feminist hardcore punk band. In the band’s early days, some found their politics “extreme,” but in the years since, feminism has undeniably gone mainstream. War On Women doesn’t back down from its political stance against the alt-right or Trumpism in the midst of a tumultuous period of American history. The band’s unrelenting vision and ferociously vital messages are are seemingly more necessary than ever before.  

Their new album Wonderful Hell (Bridge Nine), set for digital release on October 30th and physically on November 13th, is a call to action, even when every step forward feels like it’s met with a landslide back. It was recorded by guitarist and co-founder Brooks Harlan alongside J. Robbins at his Magpie Cage Studios back in February. The title track, which unintentionally echoes John Lewis’ notion of “good trouble” as a catalyst for change, emerged during a period when vocalist/lyricist Shawna Potter was feeling exhausted and overwhelmed by life in the Trump era. “I think it expresses something that a lot of people are feeling. Like, ‘Okay, we had our moment. Now it’s time to get back to work. We can’t let this happen again. We can’t endure another four years of this,’” she comments.

Just listen to War On Women’s visceral attack on “Wonderful Hell.”

Wonderful Hell Track Listing:

1.  Aqua Tofana

2.  Milk and Blood

3.  Wonderful Hell

4.  This Stolen Land

5.  White Lies

6.  Big Words

7.  Seeds

8.  Her?

9.  In Your Path

10.  The Ash is Not the End

11.  Demon