Duncan Fellows Announce New Album, Share Two Singles In Support Of News

Austin’s Duncan Fellows are excited to announce their full-length album The Sadlands which is set for release on October 16, 2020. The first two singles from the album, “Feeling Down,” and “Car Song” are available now.  

The band had this to say about the new album: “It sometimes feels that it is human instinct to defy the severity of a situation—to reimagine an unbearable moment so as to make it palatable through distance and disassociation. It seems we all do this frequently and out of necessity in our everyday lives. Sometimes you give that place of convergence a name. This is where we drew our inspiration for The Sadlands

The Sadlands is a map of experiences culled from the past few years of our lives where we began to really try to demarcate the moments that had shaped, and continue to shape us as people: dancing alone in a room with the person you love, knowing there’s some things neither of you will ever be able to tell the other; driving in circles across the country and wondering what the hell you’re doing; watching untended wounds slowly pull your loved ones apart. We strove for honesty above everything else and we hope that comes through in the music. Cheers and please play our video game on Thesadlands.com. Following the release of the new album, the band will launch a video game that they created themselves accessible via thesadlands.com.”

Duncan Fellows, who were spotlighted as an NPR Artist to Watch in 2019, have released three EPs —2013’s Twelve Months Older and 2015’s Marrow and 2019’s Eyelids Shut —while the band members were in college, the Duncan Fellows debut full-length Both Sides of the Ceiling dropped in 2017 and put the band on the map. Their single “Fresh Squeezed” has racked up over three million Spotify streams and the entire album was championed by local radio. The band has played festivals including Austin City Limits, Voodoo Festival, SXSW, Shaky Knees and toured with acts including Middle Kids, Whitney, Wilderado and The Drums.