Tag Archive: “Columbia Records”

The One With Dancing on the Walls

On this episode: our dear cousins broadcast live from a pirate radio ship as Brian brings news that they’ve been cancelled by Ghettoblaster editor Dave Obenour, Luke tells some cheesy music jokes, Brian takes us back to 2013 when pop and indie-rock merged and Luke urges artists not to hang out with Taylor Swift, Brian shows us what the lovechild of Jesus and Mary Chain and New Order would sound like, listeners are reminded of Luke’s fervent Don’t Read campaign and talk about the incredible TV show The Handmaid’s Tale, Brian brings his dancing shoes and dances on the wall like Fred Astaire,  they talk a lot about death and ghosts and morbidly romantic music, Brian hypes the new season of The Bachelorette out May 22nd on ABC, Luke schools Brian on who Rachel ended up with in the Friends series finale and they play eight of the best songs you’ll hear all week!

Every week Ghettoblaster feature writers (and dear cousins!) Brian LaBenne and Luke LaBenne bring you fresh new songs with the hopes of introducing you to some that you may consider to be the best song ever.  Both Brian and Luke have no idea what songs the other has picked, so what you are hearing is their genuine reaction to listening to the songs together.  Also, if you enjoy this episode, head to ITunes to subscribe and rate our podcast with the highest rating available to you.


Songs Played on The One With Dancing on the Walls

Haim – Want You Back from Something to Tell You out July 7th on Columbia

Goodwood Atoms – Dreaming About from Place EP out May12th on Yunizon Records

Fazerdaze – Lucky Girl from Morningside out now on Flying Nun Records

Lando Chill – Break Them Shackles from The Boy Who Spoke to the Wind out June 23rd on Mello Music Group

LCD Soundsystem – Call the Police out now on Columbia Records

Chris Bathgate feat. Tunde Olaniran – Low Hey from Dizzy Seas out May 19th on Quite Scientific Records

Big Thief – Shark Smile from Capacity out June 9th on Saddle Creek Records

Cymbals – Decay from Light in Your Mind out August 25th on Tough Love Records

HAIM will release their highly anticipated debut album, Days Are Gone, on September 30 via Columbia Records. Recorded mostly in HAIM’s native Los Angeles, the album sees sisters Este, Danielle and Alana Haim working alongside acclaimed producers Ariel Rechtshaid (Usher, Vampire Weekend) and James Ford (Florence and the Machine, Arctic Monkeys). Days Are Gone will feature crowd favorites “Falling,” “Forever,” and “Don’t Save Me” as well as brand new tracks that have yet to air live, including title track “Days Are Gone,” which was co-written with Kid Harpoon and Jessie Ware.

Later this month, HAIM will embark on a headlining North American tour with stops in New York, Boston and Los Angeles, among others (see below for full U.S. tour dates).

8/31       Philadelphia, PA               Made in America
9/1         Boston, MA                        Paradise
9/3         New York, NY                    Webster Hall
9/7         Guthrie, OK                        Ottonwood Flast *
10/4       Austin, TX                            Antone’s
10/5       Austin, TX                            Austin City Limits
10/6       New Orleans, LA              One Eyed Jacks
10/8       Dallas, TX                             Trees
10/10     Lawrence, KS                     The Granada
10/12     Austin, TX                            Austin City Limits
10/14     Phoenix, AZ                        Crescent Ballroom
10/15     San Diego, CA                    Casbah
10/16     Los Angeles, CA                                Fonda
10/18     Pomona, CA                       The Glass House
10/20     San Francisco, CA             Treasure Island
10/22     Portland, OR                      Mississippi Studios
10/23     Seattle, WA                        Neumos
10/27     Las Vegas, NV                    Life is Beautiful
*Supporting Mumford and Sons

Passion Pit have announced the tracklisting and release date for Gossamer, their sophomore effort.  Gossamer arrives July 24 on Columbia Records.  Here is the tracklist:


1. Take a Walk
2. I’ll Be Alright
3. Carried Away
4. Constant Conversations
5. Mirrored Sea
6. Cry Like a Ghost
7. On My Way
8. Hideaway
9. Two Veils to Hide My Face
10. Love Is Greed
11. Its Not My Fault I’m Happy
12. Where We Belong