Marcellus Hall (Railroad Jerk/White Hassle) Shares “One Night,” Announces New LP

Marcellus Hall will release his third proper solo album on February 9, 2024 and today shares the video for “One Night.” The LP, I Will Never Let You Down, will be available on digital streaming platforms and on vinyl via the German label, Gutfeeling, and follows The First Line (2011) and the self-released  Afterglow  (2013). Hall’s solo LPs include long-time accompanists Damon Smith on bass and Mike Shapiro on drums.

“The video for One Night’ fell together magically” Hall tells BrooklynVegan: “Having filmed with an iPhone several takes of me lip-synching at the magic hour on the Lower East Side of New York at Corlears Hook. I sent the footage, with a batch of band photos and drawings, to filmographer, Andrew Hooper, who had just relocated to Chiangmai, Thailand, but despite the distance and our having never met in person, we were on the same page. Andrew’s frenetic cutting and beautiful graphic sense perfectly complement the song whose talk-sing, collage lyricism has antecedents in Railroad Jerk’s Ballad of Railroad Jerk (1994), White Hassle’s  Vodka Talking (2004), and my solo release Wait A Minute (2013). And much credit goes to accompanists Damon Smith, Mike Shapiro, and Joachim Kearns, who make this song rock.”

“This album was five years in the making,” Hall continues. “We wanted to get it right. The pandemic intervened, but we got it right. These are songs about love, loss, hope, and redemption.”