Danger Mouse and Black Thought Share “Aquamarine”

Danger Mouse and Black Thought have shared new single, “Aquamarine” featuring British soul star, Michael Kiwanuka. “Aquamarine” is the latest single from Danger Mouse and Black Thought’s highly-anticipated album, Cheat Codes, out 12th August.    

Danger Mouse’s rousing, cinematic production and Black Thought’s razor-sharp vocals are perfectly complemented by Kiwanuka’s soaring and soulful hook. The single is accompanied by a kaleidoscopic video directed by UK creative duo UNCANNY.

Aquamarine continues Danger Mouse and Kiwanuka’s fruitful creative collaboration, following their work on the singer’s breakout, chart-topping album, Love & Hate, and the Mercury Music Prize-winning follow-up, Kiwanuka.  

“For “Aquamarine”, when I heard the music I just had a feeling to sing about standing up for something that’s unique and following that path”, reflects Kiwanuka. “I don’t know why but that’s what came out.  Sometimes when you’re following something that’s unique to you it’s as if ‘enemies are all around’. At times life can feel fragile like ‘everything’s burning down’. For some reason the chords and music made me feel that way.”  

In addition to Michael Kiwanuka, the record features Kid Sister, A$AP Rocky, Run The Jewels, MF DOOM, Joey Bada$$, Russ, Conway the Machine and more.