Tancred Shares New Single "Something Else" Off Forthcoming Album

Jess Abbott records under the pseudonym Tancred and will release her latest effort Nightstand on June 1st (Polyvinyl). Before its release, she gives fans a taste of it with the new single “Something Else,” which follows the earlier release of the first single, “Reviews.” With Nightstand Abbott picks up where Out of The Garden left off, pairing upbeat melodies with her often somber lyrics about the experience of being a woman and being queer in today’s society. But in contrast with past albums, the songs for Nightstand were mostly finished before she entered the studio. As a result, The focus was less on finishing songs and more on perfecting them. Working with Pesacov offered new approaches – and gear – previously undiscovered by Abbott, affording her avenues of exploration that dialed in the production and tone on each and every song. “My favorite part of each day was sitting down to decide which guitar we needed to use for the song we were recording,” recalls Abbott. “It sounds so simple and I know most records are made this way, but it was my first time actually being able to do that and I loved it.”


Upcoming Tour Dates:
# w/ The Joy Formidable
17 – San Diego, CA – The Casbah #
19 – Los Angeles, CA – Lodge Room #
23 – San Francisco, CA – The Independent #
26 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge #
27 – Vancouver, BC – The Fox Cabaret #
28 – Seattle, WA – Neumos #
31 – Denver, CO – Globe Hall #
01 – Kansas City, MO – recordBar #
02 – St. Paul, MN – Turf Club #
03 – Chicago, IL – Lincoln Hall #
04 – Toronto, ON – Horseshoe Tavern #
06 – Cambridge, MA – The Sinclair #
07 – Philadelphia, PA – Underground Arts #
09 – Brooklyn, NY – Music Hall of Williamsburg #
10 – Washington, DC – The Black Cat #