Song Premiere: The Fur Coats, "Epilogue"

Dystopia Sherbit, the third LP from the Austin-by-way-of-Midwest America trio The Fur Coats, is set for release via Johann’s Face Records on March 3. The album was recorded by Jimmy Wildcat at Sweetheart Studios, Austin and mastered by John Hoffman (of the celebrated Ohio band Vacation). For this outing, the trio has called in support from a small, but mighty, cadre of guest musicians including Devon Kay (Direct Hit! Devon Kay & the Solutions) and Joel Midden (The Dumpies, Bastardgeist).

Pre-order the album here.  

Guitarist/vocalist/keyboardist/mastermind Marc Ruvolo started his first punk band, No Empathy, in 1984 in Chicago, Illinois. His label, Johann’s Face Records followed in 1989 and is approaching its 105th release. Johann’s Face has released seminal punk records from the likes of Alkaline Trio, The Smoking Popes, Apocalypse Hoboken, and many others. A veteran of many bands and projects since the ’80s, Ruvolo has created and released music with Matt Skiba (Alkaline Trio/Blink 182), Devon Kay (Direct Hit!), and John Polydoros (Off With Their Heads), to name a few. He also is an active member of the SFF (science fiction & fantasy, if you’re nasty) community, writing and publishing short stories. He is currently at work on a seemingly endless fantasy novel and a book of queer poems.

Ruvolo is joined in Fur Coats by Dugg Nelson, drummer of Capitalist Kids, Prince (Texas) and emo-revivalists Bum Out. Bassist, backing vocalist Johnny Incaini played bass in Austin’s Critical Dad.

Today, Ghettoblaster has the pleasure of premiering “Epilogue” from the forthcoming LP, which you can enjoy below.

Bandcamp | Label