Son Lux Signs To City Slang, Announces New Album And Share Single "Dream State"

Son Lux has signed with City Slang Records, which will release the LA and NY-based band’s new album Brighter Wounds on February 9, 2018. An early preview of the forthcoming new album can be heard in thrilling first single “Dream State,” where amidst the song’s ideal vision of youth – “Invincible skin, it’s how we all begin” – a triumphant shout blasts through a cloud of synths, underscored by woodwinds and brass from acclaimed NYC instrumentalists yMusic (who appear throughout Brighter Wounds). Hear the song and watch the lyric video created by the band’s long-time collaborators The Made Shop.

Son Lux is the grand genre-less dream of Los Angeles composer Ryan Lott, and Brighter Wounds finds the band transformed all over again. On 2015’s exultant and explosive LP Bones (praised by NPR MusicPitchforkPasteDrowned In Sound, and more), Lott’s then-solo project became a bonafide band alongside guitarist Rafiq Bhatia and drummer Ian Chang – each a writer, producer, and performer with omnivorous taste and a penchant for wild improvisation – igniting a volatile mix of electronic pop, unusual soul and outright experimentalism. This fifth album marks another fundamental shift as Lott leaves universal themes behind to write from a personal perspective: while making these songs, he became a father to a baby boy and lost a best friend to cancer. Days of “firsts” were also days of “lasts,” and the normal fears of first-time parenthood were compounded by a frightening new reality – Lott’s son was born shortly after Election Day. These songs draw on all of that: warm reflections of a fading past, the pain of still-present loss, and a mix of anxiety and hope for a future promised to none.

Brighter Wounds tracklist:
1. Forty Screams
2. Dream State
3. Labor
4. Slowly
5. The Fool You Need
6. All Directions
7. Aquatic
8. Surrounded
9. Young
10. Resurrection