Sauna Drop New Single ”Dose Yourself”

Toronto supertrio Sauna today share the title track from their forthcoming debut album Dose Yourself which is set for release on May 20th.  Sauna comprises Michael le Riche (Fake Palms), Zach Bines (Weaves) and Braeden Craig (Greys).  Sauna have just announced an album release show in Toronto on May 28th at The Monarch Tavern. The band will also play Lawnya Vawnya Festival this June.

Dose Yourself takes its title from a trip to the woods. At the time that guitarist and singer Michael le Riche went to a rented cabin with friends, he was at a personal low point, which kept him locked in a state of uncertainty. When his friends decided to trip, le Riche hesitated. A friend stepped in and said bluntly, “Do it or don’t.”

Those four words took root and bloomed into a new ethic that throbs and courses through the record, wound around their motorik new wave, modern disco, bright-eyed post-punk, and peppy retro synth-rock. It’s a far-cry from the asymmetrical post-punk churn of le Riche’s band Fake Palms; ditto drummer Braeden Craig’s driving, noisy punk with Greys, and bassist Zach Bines’ work with Toronto alt-darling Weaves. 

Compared to the record’s general goal of experimenting in classicism and pop forms, le Riche calls the title track a “total failure,” yet precisely for that reason it serves as the album’s thematic and structural centrepiece. “It’s one of my favourite moments on the record,” says le Riche.

Photo Courtesy: Colin Medley