New Pornographers Share Single "The Surprise Knock"

The New Pornographers share the single “The Surprise Knock” today. The track is the second single from the group’s highly anticipated new album, In The Morse Code Of Brake Lights, due September 27 via the band’s own Collected Work Records imprint in partnership with Concord Records.

Frontperson and songwriter A.C. Newman says, “‘The Surprise Knock’ had a different feel when we first recorded it—and I wouldn’t mind releasing that version at some point. But as I was listening to it, I thought, ‘Why don’t we play this song like New Pornographers 2005?’ Then we just replayed it with that feel. I thought enough time has passed that I feel like I can play songs that sort of sound like a classic a sound and not feel like I’m repeating myself, because it’s been so long. That was definitely a part of it: just wanting to…I hate to say ‘get back,’ but just get more slightly raucous and sounding more like a band.”