Blessed Shares Remix No Joy Version Of “Structure”

Canadian art-rock band Blessed – comprised of Drew Riekman, Reuben Houweling, Jake Holmes, and Mitchell Trainor – released their latest EP iii in February to acclaim from several outlets and Iggy Pop (via his BBC Radio 6 Show). The band has released iii remixes, for which the band has curated an impressive list of talent to remix and reinterpret their latest EP. The remix EP includes collaborations with Montreal’s No Joy, Producer Graham Walsh (Holy Fuck), Industrial power house Odonis Odonis and even a special reinterpretation from Blessed themselves. The remixes act as complimentary offerings that highlight the incredible arts community Blessed are surrounded by, while simultaneously demonstrating depth of influences and vast spectrum of sounds encapsulated within their song writing.

Manifesting what feels like a completely intentional new band, No Joy expands Blessed’s track, “Structure” into a rhythmic, drum lead narrative that seamlessly blends Blessed’s complexity with No Joy’s sonic explorations; pulling from the adventurous and pleasing elements found in No Joy’s latest, Motherhood.  The remix features Drew Riekman’s elongated monotone vocals manipulated into ethereal chants over a 90’s indebted drum loop, as well as field recordings of birds chirping in the background against the lonely isolated guitar, brilliantly singled out from it’s piano and synth pad supports on the original track. The organic elements add new texture and emotions to Blessed’s song and John McEntire’s (Tortoise) original mix. 

Photo Credit: Jake Holmes