EP Premiere | Paddan, ‘Fluid Time’

On May 10, Icelandic duo Paddan will release their new EP, Fluid Time, on Lovitt Records who first met Sigtryggur at the annual Iceland Airwaves festival and bonded over a mutual love of music regardless of genre or decade.

Paddan’s Sigtryggur Baldursson and Birgir Mogensen are lifelong friends from Kópavogur, Iceland, who started as mates on the local football team, then graduated to making music together as teenagers, and even later as young men doing time in the experimental punk collective KUKL, from 1983 – 1986. KUKL was populated by survivors of the post-punk scene in Iceland in the early ’80s, which is well documented in the film Rock in Reykjavik from 1982. The band was released by the Crass collective in London and featured members, apart from Birgir and Sigtryggur, like Guðlaugur Óttarsson, Einar Melax, Björk and Einar Örn, some of whom would become better known later in outfits like the Sugarcubes and their respective solo work and other collaborations. Sigtryggur has a long career in music, having worked with among others, Emiliana Torrini, Howie B, Les Negresses Vertes, Tomas R. Einarsson, Petur Ben, KK, Kaktus Einarsson, and many many others. He also produces an award-winning documentary music show for RUV called Hljómskálinn.

Birgir Mogensen is a classically trained classical guitarist and bass player who has worked through the years with artists ranging from KUKL to Killing Joke to Spilafifl and Inferno5.
Birgir and Sigtryggur formed Paddan during the 2010s and are now preparing to release their EP Fluid Time. Recorded, produced, and arranged by the pair, Sigtryggur and Birgir play basses and drums along with various other instruments. All recordings are played on live instruments except a modular synth which is programmed in the background of two tracks  The duo is joined by the great harmonica and lap steel player Gaukur Davidsson on “Vaguely” and “Bug,” and trumpet player Eirikur Orri Ólafsson on “Splash,” not to mention the mixing expertise of Vaccines bassist Arni Hjörvar Árnason on “Bug,” “Splash,” and “Kokka,” and sound-mixer Albert Finnbogason on “Vaguely.”

Facebook | Instagram

Photo by Sigtryggur Ari Johannsson