BSE 51: Best of 2017 Part 1

“The Weather Outside is Frightful, but the Doom Tomb is so Delightful.”

On this episode of Best Song Ever: the Dear Cousins LaBenne begin counting down their respective Top 20 Albums of 2017 lists by playing songs from albums ranked 20-11!  They attempt to get a sponsorship from Outback Steakhouse, Luke wishes everyon a Merry Christmas because the president said he can now (but also adds Happy Holidays and Happy Honda Days), Brian attempts to end the year long Duet War and demands that Luke bend the knee, they talk a lot about Courtney Barnett even though they don’t play a song from her, Luke gets jammed and Brian states that he loves grock music and so much more all while playing the ten of the best songs you’ll hear all YEAR!
Every week Ghettoblaster feature writers (and dear cousins!) Brian LaBenne and Luke LaBenne bring you fresh new songs with the hopes of introducing you to some that you may consider to be the best song ever.  Both Brian and Luke have no idea what songs the other has picked, so what you are hearing is their genuine reaction to listening to the songs together.  Also, if you enjoy this episode, head to ITunes to subscribe and rate our podcast with the highest rating available to you.


Songs Played on “The Weather Outside is Frightful, but the Doom Tomb is so Delightful

Brockhampton – Jello from Saturation II out now
Charly Bliss – DQ from Guppy out now on Barsuk Records
Austra – I Love You More Than You Love Yourself from Future Politics on Domino Recording Company
Jen Cloher – Sensory Memory from Jen Cloher out now on Marathon Artists
Shabazz Palaces – 30 Clip Extension from Quazarz vs. the Jealous Machines out now on Sub Pop
Protomartyr – The Chuckler from Relatives in Descent out now on Domino Recording Company
Cende – What I Want feat. Frankie Cosmos from #1 Hit Single out now on Double Double Whammy
St. Vincent – Los Ageless from MASSEDUCTION out now on Loma Vista Recordings
The Courtneys – Frankie from The Courtneys II out now on Flying Nun Records
Oddisee – Digging Deep from The Iceburg out now on Mello Music Group