Ty Segall Shares New Single,“Radio”

Ty Segall presents “Radio,” a new single from his forthcoming album, First Taste, due August 2nd via Drag City. Just in time for the July 4th festivities (such as they are), “Radio” should satisfy all our barely-subsumed bloodlust and immutable desire to rule while also providing a majestically boomboxable anthem to revel along with at the cookout.  

As “Taste,” a number that “churns like a buzzsaw without forfeiting any melody” (Rolling Stone), continues to rise at radio, new single “Radio” sizzles with koto by Segall, saxophone and piano by Mikal Cronin, bass by Emmett Kelly, percussion and drums by Segall and Charles Moothart, and back up vocals by Shannon Lay. Through layered vocals, Segall describes shedding an old identity, adopting a new one and accepting what he cannot change: “It makes me feel like I am living for free // While I’m watching the new radio // My anger has gone away // Replaced by my new name // I’m no longer empty // I need no family.” 

“Radio’ is a science non-fiction song,” says Segall. “We live in a Cronenberg film. It has Videodrome saxoheadphones. I am a slave to the new radio and so are you.” 

Segall will play First Taste in full, alongside select albums from his expansive catalogue, during his residencies at Los Angeles’ Teragram Ballroom (every Friday from July 26-Sep. 27) andNew York’s Warsaw (Oct. 1-5).  The specifics, including support and which album plus First Taste Segall & the Freedom Band will be playing each night, are included below.

Ty Segall & Freedom Band Tour Dates:
Fri. July 26 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted) w/ Warm Drag
Fri Aug. 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted) w/ Richard Rose
Fri. Aug. 9 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted) w/ Vice Cooler
Fri. Aug. 16 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Goodbye Bread) w/ The Intelligence
Fri. Aug. 23 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Goodbye Bread) w/ Oog Bogo
Fri. Aug. 30 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Emotional Mugger) w/ Lamps
Fri. Sept. 6 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Emotional Mugger) w/ King Tuff (solo)
Fri. Sept. 13 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator) w/ Ruth Garber
Fri. Sept. 20 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator) w/ DMBQ
Fri. Sept. 27 – Los Angeles, CA @ Teragram Ballroom (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator) w/ DMBQ
Tues. Oct. 1 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted) w/ Lamps
Wed. Oct. 2 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted) w/ White Fence
Thurs. Oct. 3 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw (Ty Segall plays First Taste Goodbye Bread) w/ DMBQ
Fri. Oct. 4 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Emotional Mugger) w/ DMBQ
Sat. Oct. 5 – Brooklyn, NY @ Warsaw (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator) w/ DMBQ
Wed. Oct. 9 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted)
Thu. Oct. 10 – Paris, FR @ La Cigale (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator)
Fri. Oct. 11 – London, UK @ Oval Space (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted)
Sat. Oct. 12 – London, UK @ Oval Space (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Goodbye Bread)
Sun. Oct. 13 – London, UK @ Oval Space (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator)
Tue. Oct. 15 – Berlin, DE @ Festsaal Kreuzberg (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted)
Thu. Oct. 17 – Haarlem, NL @ Patronaat (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Melted)
Fri. Oct. 18 – Haarlem, NL @ Patronaat (Ty Segall plays First Taste + Manipulator)

0 Comments

Leave a Comment