Tag Archive: “Protomartyr”

The One About Love Triangles

On this episode: Luke plays a song with profanity and Brian plugs his ears, yet he promises to blow out the ear drums of both Luke and the listeners. It’s a battle of Self-Released artists vs. Record Labels as Luke praises DIY musicians.  They talk Ferris Bueller, celebrity fueds, and play the best collection of songs you’ll hear all week.

Every week Ghettoblaster feature writers (and dear cousins!) Brian LaBenne and Luke LaBenne bring you fresh new songs with the hopes of introducing you to some that you may consider to be the best song ever.  Both Brian and Luke have no idea what songs the other has picked, so what you are hearing is their genuine reaction to listening to the songs together.  Also, if you enjoy this episode, head to ITunes to subscribe and rate our podcast with the highest rating available to you.

ITUNES LINK


Songs Played on The One About Patriots Like Us

St. Vincent – New York out now on Loma Vista Recordings

Sloan Peterson – Rats from her upcoming self-titled debut out Sept. 8th on Mirror Records

Floco Torres – You! from Again EP (Self-Released)

Metz – Cellophane from Strange Peace out Sept. 22nd on Sub Pop

Lucy Rose – Strangest of Ways from Something’s Changing (Self-Released)

Ariel Pink – Time To Live from Dedicated to Bobby Jameson out Sept. 15th on Mexican Summer

Kele Okereke – Streets Been Talkin’ from Fatherland out Oct. 20th on BMG

Protomartyr – A Private Understanding from Relatives In Descent out Sept. 29th on Domino Records

Protomartyr shares its video for the song “Dope Cloud” off of the group’s album The Agent Intellect , directed by Lance Bangs.  Bangs, known for directing music videos for the likes of R.E.M., Pavement, Sonic Youth, Nirvana, and Arcade Fire, was simply drawn to the song and made the video on his own time and submitted it to the band. The video shows the demise of one of the last phone booths in the country.  Protomartyr is currently on tour and was featured in the latest issue of Ghettoblaster Magazine #42 (see below)

PROTOMARTYR 2016 TOUR DATES (new dates in bold):
Wed. Feb. 17 — Savannah, GA @ The Jinx w/ Spray Paint
Thu. Feb. 18 — Tallahassee, FL @ Club Downunder w/ Spray Paint
Fri. Feb. 19 — St. Augustine, FL @ St. Augustine Amphitheater w/ Spray Paint
Sat. Feb. 20 — Miami, FL @ Gramps w/ Spray Paint
Sun. Feb. 21 — Ybor City, FL @ New World Brewery w/ Spray Paint
Tue. Feb. 23 — Birmingham, AL @ The Saturn w/ Spray Paint
Wed. Feb. 24 — New Orleans, LA @ Gasa Gasa w/ Spray Paint
Thu. Feb. 25 — Houston, TX @ Walters Downtown (Bad Ass Weekend IV) w/ Spray Paint
Fri. Feb. 26 — Austin, TX @ The Sidewinder w/ Spray Paint
Sat. Feb. 27 — Dallas, TX @ RBC w/ Spray Paint
Sun. Feb. 28 — Norman, OK @ Opolis Production
Tue. Mar. 1 — Tucson, AZ @ Club Congress w/ Prom Body
Wed. Mar. 2 — San Diego, CA @ Soda Bar w/ Chastity Belt
Thu. Mar. 3 — Los Angeles, CA @ Echo w/ Chastity Belt
Fri. Mar. 4 — San Francisco, CA @ Bottom of the Hill w/ Chastity Belt, Violent Change
Sat. Mar. 5 — Sacramento, Ca @ Blue Lamp w/ Chastity Belt, G. Green
Mon. Mar. 7 — Portland, OR @ The Doug Fir Lounge w/ Chastity Belt
Tue. Mar. 8 — Vancouver, BC @ Fortune Sound Club w/ Chastity Belt
Fri. Mar. 11 — Fargo, ND @ The Aquarium
Sat. Mar. 12 — Minneapolis, MN @ 7th Street Entry
Sun. Mar. 13 — Madison, WI @ The Frequency
Wed. Mar. 16 – Sat. Mar. 19 — Austin, TX @ SXSW
Sat. Mar. 19 – San Antonio, TX @ Paper Tiger
Thu. Mar. 31 — Dublin, IR @ Workman’s Club
Fri. Apr. 1 — Liverpool, UK @ Magnet
Sat. Apr. 2 — Glasgow, UK @ Broadcast
Sun. Apr. 3 — Sheffield, UK @ Picture House Social
Mon. Apr. 4 — London, UK @ 100 Club
Tue. Apr. 5 — Reims, FR @ La Catonnerie
Wed. Apr. 6 — Antwerp, BE @ Het Bos
Thu. Apr. 7 — Groningen, NL @ Vera
Fri. Apr. 8 — Amsterdam, NL @ Paradiso
Sat. Apr. 9 — Rotterdam, NL @ Motel Mozaigue – Rotown
Mon. Apr. 11 — Dusseldorf, DE @ Zakk
Tue. Apr. 12 — Stuttgart, DE @ Club Schocken
Wed. Apr. 13 — Munich, DE @ Oranjehouse
Thu. Apr. 14 — St. Gallen, CH @ Palace
Fri. Apr. 15 — Bologna, IT @ Covo Club
Sat. Apr. 16 — Rome, IT @ Monk
Mon. Apr. 18 — Ljubljana, SI @ Gala Hala
Tue. Apr. 19 — Zagreb, HR @ Culture Factory
Wed. Apr. 20 — Vienne, AT @ Chelsea
Thu. Apr. 21 — Prague, CZ @ Basement Bar
Fri. Apr. 22 – Poznan, PL @ Spring Break FEstival
Sat. Apr. 23 – Berlin, DE @ Nothing Nice To Say
Tue. May 3 – Guelph, ON @ eBar
Wed. May 4 – Ottawa, ON @ Babylon Club
Thu. May 5 – Montreal, QC @ Virtola
Sat. May 7 – Winooski, VT @ Waking Windows Music & Arts Festival
Sun. May 8 – Allston, MA @ Great Scott
Mon. May 9 – Portsmouth, NH @ 3S Artspace
Tue. May 10 – Buffalo, NY @ Mohawk Place
Sat. May 28 — George, WA @ Sasquatch Fest
Wed. June 1 – Sun. June 5 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Fri. June 3 – Nimes, FR @ This Is Not A Love Song
Thu. June 9 – Sat. June 11 – Porto, PT @ Primavera Sound Porto
Wed. June 22 – Thu. June 23 – Calgary, AB @ Sled Island Festival
Wed. June 29 – Sat. July 2 – Roskilde Festival
Aug. 5-7 — Happy Valley, OR @ Pickathon

Ghettoblaster42

Protomartyr’s new record, The Agent Intellect, is coming out on October 9 via Hardly Art. Today, they’re sharing “Dope Cloud,” a new song from the full-length, and as close as the band has ever come to a “radio single.” The almost-anthem deals in a currency of lost ownership and the futility of creature comforts, as Joe Casey’s lyrics paint mental images of a “saltmine racist gang” and a “pizza king” swollen with riches. It’s one of the best songs the band has released to date, showcasing their strength as both songwriters and lyricists, and should continue to make the case for Protomartyr’s place amongst the best rock bands of the day.

Catch the band live:
Fri. Oct. 9 – Detroit, MI @ Marble Bar w/Deaf Wish, Casual Sweetheart

Sat. Oct. 10 – Detroit, MI @ Marble Bar w/Spray Paint, Growwing Pains

Sun. Oct. 11 – Toronto, ON @ Horseshoe Tavern w/Dirty Nil, Growwing Pains

Mon. Oct. 12 – Montreal, QC @ Bar Le Ritz PDT w/Growwing Pains

Tue. Oct. 13 – Cambridge, MA @ Middle East Upstairs w/Growwing Pains

Sat. Oct. 17 – Baltimore, MD @ Metro Gallery

Sun. Oct. 18 – Philadelphia, PA @ Johnny Brenda’s w/Amanda X

Tue.Oct. 20 – Raleigh, NC @ King’s Barcade w/Amanda X

Wed. Oct. 21 – Atlanta, GA @ The Earl w/Amanda X

Thu. Oct. 22 – Nashville, TN @ Stone Fox

Fri. Oct. 23 – Bloomington, IN @ Blockhouse w/Amanda X

Sat. Oct. 24 – Milwaukee, WI @ Cactus Club w/Amanda X

Sun. Oct. 25 – Chicago, IL @ Lincoln Hall w/Amanda X, Negative Scanner

Wed. Oct. 28 – Nantes, FR @ Soy Festival – Stereolux

Thu. Oct. 29 – Lille, FR @ La Peniche

Fri. Oct. 30 – Brighton, UK @ Green Door Store

Sat. Oct. 31 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club

Sun. Nov. 1 – London, UK @ Scala

Mon. Nov. 2 – London, UK @ Dalston Victoria

Tue. Nov. 3 – Bristol, UK @ The Fleece

Wed. Nov. 4 – Manchester, UK @ Sound Control

Thu. Nov. 5 – Glasgow, UK @ Stereo

Fri. Nov. 6 – Birmingham @ The Rainbow Cellar

Sat. Nov. 7 – Cardiff, UK @ SWN Fest

Mon. Nov. 9 – Brussels, BE @ Botanique (Rotonde)

Tue. Nov. 10 – Wiesbaden, DE @ Schlachthof

Wed. Nov. 11 – Hamburg, DE @ Hafenklang

Thu. Nov. 12 – Copenhagen, DK @ Loppen

Fri. Nov. 13 – Aarhus, DK @ Radar

Sat. Nov. 14 – Berlin, DE @ Berghain Katine

Mon. Nov. 16 – Cologne, DE @ MTC

Tue. Nov. 17 – Strasbourg, FR @ Le Mudd Club

Wed. Nov. 18 – Paris, FR @ Point Ephemere

Thu. Nov. 19 – Rotterdam, NL @ Rotown

Fri. Nov. 20 – Utrecht, NL @ Le Guess Who? Festival

Sat. Nov. 21 – Kortrijk, BE @ Sonic City – De Kreun

METZ’s headlining 2015 world tour on behalf of II resumes July 10 in Montreal, QC at Piccolo Rialto and currently ends November 20th in Utrecht, NL at Le Guess Who? Festival. And now, the band have added October and November UK dates, which run from October 30 in Birmingham at Hare and Hounds through November 5th in Glasgow at Stereo.

Hardly Art recording artists Protomartyr will join METZ as direct support on select dates. Please find a complete list of tour dates below.

Jul. 10 – Montreal, QC – Piccolo Rialto

Jul. 12 – Quebec City, QC –  Imperial De Quebec

Jul. 14 – Ottawa, ON – Ottawa Blues Fest

Jul. 21 – Cincinnati, OH – The Woodward Theatre

Jul. 22 – Columbus, OH – The Basement

Jul. 23 – Buffalo, NY – Mohawk Place

Jul. 25 – Oro-Medonte, ON – WayHome Music & Arts Festival

Jul. 27 – Milwaukee, WI – Cactus Club # !

Jul. 29 – Winnipeg, MB – Pyramid Cabaret # !

Jul. 30 – Saskatoon, SK – Amigos Cantina # !

Jul. 31 – Calgary, AB – The Gateway # !

Aug. 01 – Edmonton, AB – The Starlite Room # !

Aug. 03 – Vancouver, BC – The Rickshaw Theatre # !

Aug. 04 – Seattle, WA – Neumos # !

Aug. 05 – Portland, OR – Doug Fir Lounge # !

Aug. 06 – Salt Lake City, UT – Twilight Concert Series @ Pioneer Park*

Aug. 09 – San Francisco, CA – Outside Lands

Aug. 11 – Denver, CO – Larimer Lounge # !

Aug. 13 – Dallas, TX – Trees  # !

Aug. 14 – Houston, TX – Fitzgerald’s  # !

Aug. 15 -Austin, TX – Red 7  # !

Aug. 18 – Phoenix, AZ – Crescent Ballroom #

Aug. 19 – San Diego, CA – Casbah #

Aug. 22  – Los Angeles, CA – FYF Fest

Sep. 04 – Larmer Tree Gardens, UK –  End of the Road Festival

Sep. 06 – Dublin, IE – Electric Picnic

Sep. 08 – Vienna, AT – Arena

Sep. 09 – Zagreb, HR – Culture Factory (Small Room)

Sep. 10 – Bologna, IT – Freakout Club

Sep. 11 – Rome, IT – INIT

Sep. 12 – Milan, IT – Lo Fi Club

Sep. 14 – Zurich, CH – Kinski Club

Sep. 15 – Lausanne, CH – Le Romandie

Sep.17 – Toulouse, FR – Le Metronum

Sep. 19 – Madrid, ES – Sala Lemon

Sep. 20 – Porto, PT – Amplifest

Sep. 21 – Bilbao, ES – Kafe Antzokia

Sep. 23 – Lyon, FR – Le Transbordeur

Sep. 24 – Relms, FR – Festival Elektricity

Sep. 25 – Dusseldorf, DE – Zakk

Sep. 26 – Hamburg, DE – Reeperbahn Festival

Oct. 16 – Stockholm, SE – Debaser

Oct. 17 – Lund, SE – Mejeriet

Oct. 18 – Oslo, NO – John Dee

Oct. 19 – Aarhus, DK – Atlas ^

Oct. 20 – Copenhagen, DK – Loppen @ Christiana ^

Oct. 22 – Nijmegen, NL – Doornroosje ^

Oct. 23 – Amsterdam, NL – Bitterzoet ^

Oct. 24 – Zwolle, NL – Let’s Get Lost Festival

Oct. 27 – Paris, FR – La Maroquinerie ^

Oct. 28 – Lille, FR – L’ Aeronef ^

Oct. 29 – Antwerp, BE – Trix ^

Oct. 30 – Birmingham, UK – Hare and Hounds ^

Oct. 31 – Leeds, UK – Brudenell Social Club ** ^

Nov. 01 – London, UK – Scala  **

Nov. 03 – Bristol, UK – The Fleece **

Nov. 04 – Manchester, UK – Sound Control **

Nov. 05 – Glasgow, UK – Stereo **

Nov. 20 – Utrecht, NL – Le Guess Who? Festival

* w/ The Kills ! w/ Big Ups # w/ Dilly Dally ** w/ Protomartyr ^ w/ Crows

R. Ring’s forthcoming 7″ split-single with Kentucky-based garage rockers Quailbones will feature the two respective songs “Singing Tower” & “A Tip to Trick the Tide” and will be released this July in 7″ vinyl & digital formats via Sofaburn Records. While this won’t be available for a few months yet, R. Ring will be producing an extremely limited (100) handmade, custom-packaged version of it as a 12″ vinyl LP with screen-printed artwork just for thier upcoming tour (dates below).

In addition, R. Ring also have a new 7″ split-single titled “A Half Of Seven” with Detroit-based post-punk band Protomartyr coming out on vinyl June 16 through Hardly Art and is available to pre-order here. R. Ring’s song from it “Loud Underneath” is available as a digital download now here, and Protomartyr’s track “Blues Festival” is available digitally now here.

R. Ring will be on tour all spring and will be joined by drummer Jose Medeles (The Breeders / 1939 Ensemble ) for a week of dates in the Pacific Northwest, before drummer/professional skater Kristian Svitak (The Heartaches / Swami Records) joins them for their leg back home from L.A.

4/18 – Wooster, OH – Lucky Records w/ Buffalo Killers and Ampline (noon)

4/18 – Dayton, OH  – Omega Music w/ Buffalo Killers and Ampline (6pm)

4/21 – Cincinnati, OH – Northside Tavern

4/30 – Dayton, OH – Canal Public House

5/01 – Chicago, IL – Empty Bottle

5/02 – Madison, WI – Frequency

5/03 – Minneapolis, MN – 7th Street Entry

5/04 – Fargo, ND – The Aquarium

5/05 – Billings, MT – Pub Station

5/06 – Spokane, WA – The Bartlett

5/07 – Seattle, WA – Sunset Tavern

5/10 – Portland, OR – Mississippi Studios (w/ Bed)

5/11 – San Francisco, CA – Elbo Room (w/ 1939 Ensemble)

5/12 – Los Angeles, CA – Satellite (w/ 1939 Ensemble)

5/14 – Albuquerque, NM – Launchpad

5/15 – Denver, CO – Hi Dive

5/16 – Omaha, NE – O’leavers

5/17 – Lawrence, KS – Replay Lounge

5/18 – Columbia, MO – Cafe Berlin

5/19 – Louisville, KY – The New Vintage (w/ Quailbones)