Tag Archive: “Liturgy”

Liturgy is a Brooklyn-based, self-styled “Transcendental Black Metal” band whose yearning, energetic music exists in an uncanny space between avant rock, black metal, fine art and shamanic ritual. Led by songwriter and conceptual architect Hunter Hunt-Hendrix, who is joined by guitarist Bernard Gann, bassist Tyler Dusenbury and drummer Greg Fox, the band exists as a 21st century total work of art (gesamtkunstwerk): activating divine potencies by means of music and culture even as it underscores the contradictions inherent in such a project during the internet era.

Their third full length, The Ark Work, which is out on Thrill Jockey March 24, is a quantum leap forward, a radical change in sound that paradoxically sounds more like Liturgy than ever. NPR today premiered the first track from them, saying “”Quetzalcoatl” is a good representation of where Liturgy stands in 2015: Hunt-Hendrix has ditched shrieks in favor of chants that channel, well, Orthodox liturgical singing. Bassist Tyler Dusenbury and drummer Greg Fox (Zs, Guardian Alien) have returned to the fold, but at times, The Ark Work feels like it was composed with a drum machine in mind; it’s rigorous and detached, even as Fox thwacks “Quetzalcoatl” wide open with gunshot snares. Then there are the purposefully fake-sounding MIDI strings, which soar like the climax to The Smashing Pumpkins’ “Tonight, Tonight,” heightening Hunt-Hendrix’s ecstatic guitar shred. It’s anything but black metal, which just might be the point.”

Click Here To Listen To “Quetzalcoatl”

Watch The Ark Work Album Teaser

Liturgy has reunited it’s quartet line-up – Hunter Hunt-Hendrix on guitar and vocals, Bernard Gann on guitar, Greg Fox on drums and Tyler Dusenbury on bass – for several upcoming shows and performances at the Midpoint and Pygmalion festivals this fall.

Thrill Jockey will also be reissuing Liturgy’s debut album Renihilation, originally released by 20 Buck Spin in 2009, on August 26. Liturgy will release a new full-length in 2015.

Sat August 23rd – Brooklyn, NY – Pioneer Works (tickets)
Fri September 26th – Cincinnati, OH – Midpoint Festival (info)
Sat September 27th – Louisville, KY – Zanzabar
Sun September 28th – Champaign, IL – Pygmalion Festival (info)
Tue September 30th – Chicago, IL – Land and Sea Dept.
Wed October 1st – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class

Survival, the New York based experimental rock ensemble that features Liturgy’s Hunter Hunt-Hendrix on guitar and vocals, will be touring North America for the first time this summer. The trio will play dates throughout the East Coast and Midwest this August.

Wed. Aug. 14th – New Haven, CT – BAR w/ Crystal Stilts
Sun. Aug. 18th – Pittsburgh, PA – The Smiling Moose
Mon. Aug. 19th – Detroit, MI – Magic Stick Lounge
Tue. Aug. 20th – Chicago, IL – The Empty Bottle
Wed. Aug. 21st – Cleveland, OH – Now That’s Class
Thu. Aug. 22nd – Philadelphia, PA – Kung Fu Necktie
Fri. Aug. 23rd – Brooklyn, NY – Saint Vitus
Wed. Sept. 4th – Washington, DC – DC9
Sept. 5th-7th – Raleigh, NC – Hopscotch Festival

Earlier today Noisey premiered a video for “Tragedy of the Mind” by Survival, which features Liturgy’s Hunter Hunt-Hendrix on guitar and vocals. Survival’s self-titled debut album is out on Thrill Jockey May 14. While Survival’s music shares certain elements of Liturgy’s transcendental black metal (the existential angst, ever-shifting time-signatures, and emphasis on mood and atmosphere), Survival is first and foremost a rock band. The group writes their songs collectively and sing as one voice. The video highlight’s the band’s nihilistic world-view: as the trio chants “Ending begins,” an entire band’s worth of gear is charred. Check it out below.


Survival will play a record release show at The Acheron in Brooklyn May 9 with Alan Watts, STATS, and Vaporizer. There are also summer North American tour dates forthcoming. Liturgy is currently writing and recording material to be released in 2014.

Guardian Alien, an ensemble developed from of the solo work of drummer Greg Fox, known for his work with Teeth Mountain, Dan Deacon, New Party Systems and Liturgy, and named the Best Drummer in New York by the Village Voice last year, has signed to Thrill Jockey, who will release See The World Given To A One Love Entity on July 24.  Here are Fox and company’s upcoming performances:

Thu Jun 7 - Brooklyn, NY - La Sala at Cantina Royal – Performance! Residency w/ ATM

Thu Jun 14 - Brooklyn, NY - La Sala at Cantina Royal - Performance! Residency w/ Wish

Fri Jun 15 - New York, NY - Cake Shop w/ Dope Body, Roomrunner, Zulus

Thu Jun 21 - Brooklyn, NY - La Sala at Cantina Royal - Performance! Residency w/ Diamond Terrifier

Sat Jun 23 - New York, NY - St. Mark’s Church in-the-Bowery w/ Talibam! and Sam Kulik “Discover AtlantASS”

Thu Jun 28 – Brooklyn,, NY - La Sala at Cantina Royal - Performance! Residency w/ Raft

Fri Jul 6 - Brooklyn, NY - Death By Audio w/ Colin L. Orchestra, Bird Names (Northern Spy Fest)

Fri Jul 27 - Brooklyn, NY - Secret Project Robot Room w/ Cellular Chaos (You Are Here Fest)

Thu Sep 6 - Raleigh, NC - Hopscotch Festival

Just in time for the weekend, the issue 28 mixtape has arrived! Get on over to the mixtape page and download the crap out of it.

We’ve got tons of good shit in this compilation. All of it is, as always, artists featured in the latest issue, covering all the best hip-hop, metal, rock and world music.

Here’s a full track list for those who don’t want to just go download it now:

01. Ezekiel Honig – “Subverting the Memory of Your Surroundings”
02. Kuf Knotz – “Fame Us”
03. The Black Swans – “Joe Tex”
04. Southeast Engine – “Adeline of the Applachian Mountains”
05. Frankensteez – “Black Angel (feat. Saucy Lady)”
06. Ampline – “The Dynamos Sang Dollars”
07. Alcoholic Faith Mission – “Running With Insanity”
08. Bill Callahan – “Baby’s Breath”
09. Clan Destined – “SCREAM (feat. Stacy Epps)”
10. D. Charles Speer & The Helix – “Freddie’s Lapels”
11. Times New Viking – “Ever Falling in Love”
12. Fair Nick Stars – “Arrete Mal Parlé”
13. Faust – “Herbststimmung”
14. Boris – “Riot Sugar”
15. Ayatollah – “It Came From His Fingertips”
16. Liturgy – “High Gold (edit)”
17. Low – “Try to Sleep”
18. Man Man – “Knuckle Down”
19. Maggie Bjorklund – “Intertwined”
20. Reks – “25th Hour (clean)”
21. Skeletonwitch – “Crushed Beyond Dust”
22. Kode9 – “Time Patrol Dub”
23. Andre Afram Asmar – “Onward Farword”