Tag Archive: “Barn Owl”

Jon Porras of Barn Owl delves deeper into the world of electronic synthesis on Light Divide, out March 25.  In addition Barn Owl will play Austin Psych Fest in April.

Jon Porras creates drone music with a refined sense of atmosphere and remarkable forward motion. Regardless of the tools he uses, be it guitars and stacks of amplifiers or modular synthesizers, Porras creates cavernous sound-worlds that are as inviting as they are alien. Light Divide, his second solo release for Thrill Jockey, shows Porras shifting his focus entirely to electronic synthesis, using a wide array of analog and digital systems to exponentially expand his sonic palate. The resulting sounds are silhouettes of distant rhythms, abstracted traces of techno wastelands that come in and out of focus like an urban, post-industrial sprawl being overtaken by fog.

Order Light Divide from Thrill Jockey mailorder:

For one week Pitchfork will be streaming Barn Owl’s V exclusively on their Advance platform. The stream features exclusive digital artwork, including animations by Paul Clipson. While past Barn Owl albums have used guitars as the basis of their expansive soundscapes, the duo of Jon Porras and Evan Caminiti have incorporated elements of dub and electronic music on V. Get it here:

Stream V by Barn Owl at Pitchfork Advance
Barn Owl will be performing a rare East Coast show at Death By Audio in Brooklyn this Friday, April 12 to celebrate the release.  Deets are below.

Barn Owl at Death By Audio, Brooklyn, NY
Friday April 12th, 9 p.m.
w/ Stygian Stride & Jahillyya Fields

Evan Caminiti (one half of Barn Owl) is set to release Dreamless Sleep for Thrill Jockey Records on August 21.  According to Thrill Jockey, “The album is in constant flux between light and dark, from dirge like crawls to uplifting choral harmonies, creating a narrative unlike anything Caminiti has offered before.”

For more information, visit:


The new Ghettoblaster mixtape is here! With print issue 28 hitting the streets we wanted to pass along some music for the artists covered in the magazine. Say goodbye to the old and bring in the new! We’ve got some good shit for you guys this time around, as usual. Check out the full mix listing below and go download it on the mixtape page.

1. Asva – “New World Order Rising”
2. Barn Owl – “Turiya”
3. Bye,Confiserie – “Bye City”
4. Crystal Antlers – “Summer Solstice”
5. Cymbals Eat Guitars – “Keep Me Waiting”
6. EdO.G – “Dummies (remix)”
7. Fly Union – “Who You Wit”
8. Grieves – “On The Rocks”
9. Headnodic – “Movin On Up (feat. Latyrx & Kat ((010)))”
10. Mayer Hawthorne – “A Long Time”
11. Motel Beds – “Western Son”
12. Night Birds – “Landfill Land”
13. No Surrender – “Give It Up”
14. Olde Growth – “The Grand Illusion”
15. Oneida – “Horizon (edit)”
16. Red Sun – “Crash of Rhinos”
17. Street Eaters – “Ashby and Shattuck”
18. Tommy Keene – “Deep Six Saturday”
19. Twin Sister – “Bad Street”
20. Wiley – “Numbers In Action”
21. You Bred Raptors? – “Magellan”