BSE 52: Best of 2017 Part 2

“Musical Resolutions”

On this episode of Best Song Ever: the Dear Cousins LaBenne finish counting down their respective Top 20 Albums of 2017 lists by playing songs from albums ranked 10-1! They also share their resolutions for 2018, talk about recording an album in an abandoned Outback Steakhouse and so much more all while playing the ten of the best songs you’ll hear all YEAR!

Every week Ghettoblaster feature writers (and dear cousins!) Brian LaBenne and Luke LaBenne bring you fresh new songs with the hopes of introducing you to some that you may consider to be the best song ever.  Both Brian and Luke have no idea what songs the other has picked, so what you are hearing is their genuine reaction to listening to the songs together.  Also, if you enjoy this episode, head to ITunes to subscribe and rate our podcast with the highest rating available to you.


Songs Played on “Musical Resolutions

Downtown Boys – Lips That Bite from Cost of Living out now on Sub Pop

Criag Finn – Tracking Shots from We All Want the Same Things out now on Partisan Records

Joey Bada$$ – Super Predator feat. Styles P. from All-Amerikkkan Bada$$ out now on Pro Era

The Mountain Goats – Abandoned Flesh from Goths out now on Merge Records

Bonny Doon – I See You from Bonny Doon out now on Salinas Records

Aimee Mann – Patient Zero from Mental Illness out now on Superego Records

Kelela – LMK from Tear Me Apart out now on Warp Records

Run the Jewels – Call Ticketron from Run the Jewels 3 out now

Jens Lekman – How We Met, the Long Version from Life Will See You Now out now on Secretly Canadian

Open Mike Eagle – Hymnal from Brick Body Kids Still Daydream out now on Mello Music Group