Big Thief Shares New Single “Cattails,” Announces Additional Tour Dates

Big Thief share “Cattails,” their second new song off their forthcoming album U.F.O.F., out May 3rd on 4AD. This follows the woozily gorgeous first song, “UFOF” and gives listeners a glimpse into the breadth of moods contained within this new collection.  “Cattails” begins as a simple song, a finger-picked accompaniment from Adrianne Lenker and propulsive drums from James Krivchenia. As the song progresses, a glorious hum begins to take hold underneath, with drones and twinkling piano joining the throng, as the song seems to become lighter than air and take flight.

Lenker says this of “Cattails:”

Cattails came about while we were at the studio in Washington in the pine forest. Writing it was just one of those electric multicolored waves of connectivity just sweeping through my body. I stayed up late finishing the song and the next morning was stomping around playing it over and over again. We thought why not just record it, so James sat at the drums and we practiced and by the time we’d finished practicing, Dom Monks – our engineer – had already sneakily set up mics and recorded it. It was beautiful that he’d captured it right away because when James and I were playing it felt like a little portal in the fabric had opened and we were just flying. Listening back to it makes me cry sometimes.

IG THIEF TOUR DATES (new dates in bold)
Sat. Apr. 20 – San Diego, CA @ Irenic
Thu. May 2 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Fonda Theatre
Fri. May 3 – Los Angeles, CA @ The Bootleg Theater (SOLD OUT)
Sun. May 5 – Brooklyn, NY @ Elsewhere (SOLD OUT)
Sat. May 18 – Leeds, UK @ Brudenell Social Club (SOLD OUT)
Sun. May 19 – Glasgow, UK @ SWG3
Tues. May 21 – Dublin, IR @ Vicar Street
Wed. May 22 – Manchester, UK @ The Ritz
Thu. May 23 – London, UK @ Roundhouse 
Fri. May 24 – Bristol, UK @ SWX 
Sun. May 26 – Cambridge, UK @ Cambridge Junction
Mon. May 27 – Paris, FR @ Trabendo
Tue. May 28 – Brussels, BE @ Orangerie
Thu. May 30 – Barcelona, ES @ Primavera Sound
Fri. May 31 – Nîmes, FR @ This Is Not a Love Song Festival
Sun. June 2 – Amsterdam, NL @ Best Kept Secret
Mon. June 3-6 – Marina Di Ravenna, IT @ Beaches Brew Festival
Mon. June 3 – Berlin, DE @ Lido
Tue. June 4 – Zurich, CH @ Bogen F
Sat. June 8 – Porto, PT @ NOS Privaera Sound
Tue. August 6-10 – Oslo, NO @ Oya Festival
Thu. August 8 – Copenhagen, DK @ Lille Vega
Thu. August 15-18 – Wales, UK @ Green Man Festival
Fri. August 16 – Hasselt, BE @ Pukkelpop Festival
Thu. Oct. 10 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Fri. Oct. 11 – New York, NY @ Webster Hall
Sat. Oct. 12 – South Burlington, VT @ Higher Ground
Sun. Oct. 13 – Boston, MA @ Wilbur Theatre
Tue. Oct. 15 – Montreal, QC @ La Tulipe
Wed. Oct. 16 – Toronto, ON @ Phoenix Concert Theatre
Thu. Oct. 17 – Detroit, MI @ Majestic Theatre
Fri. Oct. 18 – Chicago, IL @ Metro
Sat. Oct. 19 – Madison, WI @ The Sylvee
Mon. Oct. 21 – Minneapolis, MN @ First Avenue
Thu. Oct. 24 – Portland, OR @ Crystal Ballroom
Fri. Oct. 25 – Vancouver, BC @ Vogue Theatre
Sat. Oct. 26 – Seattle, WA @ Moore Theatre
Mon. Oct. 28 – San Francisco, CA @ The Fillmore
Wed. Oct. 30 – Santa Ana, CA @ The Observatory
Fri. Nov. 1 – Phoenix, AZ @ Crescent Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 2 – Albuquerque, NM @ Sister
Mon. Nov. 4 – Austin, TX @ Stubb’s Waller Creek Amphitheatre
Tue. Nov. 5 – Dallas, TX @ Trees
Thu. Nov. 7 – Atlanta, GA @ Variety Playhouse
Fri. Nov. 8 – Saxapahaw, NC @ Haw River Ballroom
Sat. Nov. 9 – Philadelphia, PA @ Union Transfer
Sun. Nov. 10 – Washington, DC @ 9:30 Club
Mon. Nov. 11 – Columbus, OH @ The Athenaeum Theatre