All posts by Eddie Ugarte

Though Serengeti and Mike Eagle have known each other for years and went to Southern Illinois University together, Cavanaugh is their first fully collaborative project.  Time And Materials is  also the first album that Mike has produced in its entirety. Dropping on 11/19/15

Check out the new video for “Screen Play”




1. Zorak
2. Screen Play
3. Overland
4. Typecast (feat. P.O.S, Hemlock Ernst and Busdriver)
5. Pinky
6. Church
7. Tar
8. Wonder Girl
9. Lemons (feat. Hemlock Ernst)


According to Busdriver, “Thumbs are no longer anatomical but rather the static characters of approval for a job well done. The likes that catalog our individual preferences.” And You know what? He’s right.

Thumbs is also the name of his latest full-length mixtape and it’s the follow-up to his last release Perfect Hair. As he explains it, it was created “To further explore the concept of a homogenous citizenry from his last record Perfect Hair. It draws from the defining musical tropes of the LA underground rap experience with the isolation born from racial politics fixed as a central theme.

Album release date 11/6/15



1. Hottentot Supercluster by Bun/Fumitake Tamura feat. Zeroh

2. Black Labor (as understood by Equiano) prod. by greyhat 

3. Hyperbolic 2 prod. by Mono/Poly

4. MUCH prod. by Kenny Segal Mike Parvizi MrCarmack

5. Ministry of the Torture Couch prod. by Elos feat. Hemlock Ernst

6. Worlds to Run feat. milo and Anderson .Paak prod by Kenny Segal

7. skit

8. Surrounded by Millionaires feat. Daveed Diggs

9. Great Spooks of Enormous Strength prod. by Labeatski

10. Del’s Couch feat. Del the Funky Homosapien prod. by Driver

11. Shadows and Victories prod. + feat. by Jeremiah Jae

12. NY 03 LIVE w/ Caural

13. Species of Property prod. by Labeatski


On their newest album Kylesa, made up of Phillip Cope, Laura Pleasants, and Carl McGinley, further explore and incorporate psychedelic rock, new wave, space-age twangy Americana, 80s goth and death rock into their pitch-thick DIY punk/metal roots. Exhausting Fire, out now, is the most diverse, dynamic, and fully-realized work of their discography.

To kick off their newest set of tour dates this month the band is excited to release their first music video from the record for the single “Lost and Confused.” Having premiered on Bloody Disgusting the video was directed by Skip Terstra who Cope said, the “video belongs to.” Through Skip’s vision the clip is able to “capture an intensity and darkness within a relationship that mirrors closely the vibe of “Lost and Confused.” Hailed by Bloody Disgusting as “Natural Born Killers meets Pulp Fiction” be sure to watch the video on YouTube and check out a full list of Kylesa’s upcoming tour dates below.


In case you haven’t heard it, Cool Uncle, the cross-generational duo of R&B legend Bobby Caldwell and  producer Jack Splash, just dropped a new single “Game Over” ahead of next week’s debut full-length release.  Even better though, the song features soul crooner Mayer Hawthorne driving that trademark falsetto of his, laid upon a deep-bass R&B slow jam foundation.

Listen to “Game Over”

Upgrade HipHop hails from Hudson Valley, NY and will be releasing an album on hardcore rock label Equal Vision Records. The label is known for releasing albums by Converge, Circa Survive, and Deer Hunter to name a few but this isn’t about Equal Vision, it’s about Upgrade. His new album, the appropriately named Chemical Imbalance: Another Dose is an unflinching look at his own life dealing with mental illness, subject matter most artists tend to shy away from. With this album though, Upgrade HipHop goes in head first to give listeners an idea of his own struggles and complications.

Take a first listen to  Upgrade’s “I Don’t Fit In” taken from his Chemical Imbalance: Another Dose dropping on 11/13/2015


Check out Upgrade HipHop’s previously released video for “Side Effects.”

Pre-order the album:

Earlier this year Ceschi released Broken Bone Ballad, which many fans were waiting for with fervent anticipation and excitement. Five years since his last release, The One man Band Broke Up, the time in between albums was rife with legal battles with authorities, a situation that would have taken most to the breaking point. It only fueled this artist, taking those experiences and capturing them lyrically, and musically, on the album. Produced entirely by Factor Chandelier, one seriously talented artist in his own right, Broken Bone Ballads should end up on many top 10 album lists for 2015.

Ceschi & Fake Four Inc. have released the video for “This Won’t Last Forever” premiered here first.


Listen to the Broken Bone Ballads:

Ceschi Ramos Broken Bone Ballads


A-Trak releases EP today for “We All Fall Down,” out on Fool’s Gold.  It includes “the original song with Jamie Lidell and remixes from CID, Volt & State, Jarreau Vandal and a special retouch from Lidell.” Unfamiliar with A-Trak? Well, know that he’s the first DJ to win five World Championships, worked as Kanye West as his personal DJ back in 2004 as well as scratching on Late Registration (2005) and Graduation (2007). There’s so much more to A-Trak but just take a listen to “We All Fall Down.”


Yet another spooky video just in time, grasping at the heels of Halloween. Will Butler releases his new video for “What I Want” off of this year’s Policy solo effort on Merge Records. Butler is completely tongue with a claim of attempting to bring a “100% serious, but 100% joking” attitude back into modern rock. While that statement may have most confused, it’s one thing that’s needed. The video also stars Jennifer Morrison and directed by frequent collaborator Brantley Gutierrez. Watch it here.

“EL VY’s fifth album track to be visualized by Tom Berninger (Matt’s sibling, director of the award-winning Mistaken For Strangers film and creator of all preceding EL VY videos thus far), the video for ‘Silent Ivy Hotel’ and its “pool-water martinis” takes its spooky cues from the Halloween festivities.” The group’s Return To The Moon album will be released tomorrow 10/30/2015. You can also watch the group’s “Need A Friend” here.